In Full Bloom: The Brooklyn Botanical Garden

IMG_5782
Join me under the cherry tree. 

This past weekend I was fortunate enough to attend the Cherry Blossom festival at the Brooklyn Botanical Garden. I was initially supposed to head to Washington for their festival but having just started a new job things just didn’t quite work out the way I had planned. However, it worked out in my favor because the Brooklyn Gardens are beautiful. There was an entire lane of Cherry Blossom trees my friend and I were able to walk under. We marveled at the beauty of the flowers in full bloom and the excitement that was radiating off of everyone. Besides Comic Con I have never seen so many people dressed up before. There were cosplayers in anime costumes and several women and men dressed up in kimonos and as Geishas. New York really is a big melting pot. I overheard several conversations of actual Japanese elders talking about their culture to anyone who asked them questions. There was a great sense of pride in their voices as they talked about the significance of the festival, their attire and anything related to their culture. With how the world is today it’s heartwarming to see so many people come together to respect and show appreciation of another culture.

Here are some of the flowers I saw in bloom:

Leave a Reply

