London Calling

img_0303
My first day in London. A view of the London Eye and Parliament. 

After all these years I truly believed going to Greece was a fluke. I look at pictures and think ‘Did that really happen? Was I actually there?’ If it wasn’t for this blog I wouldn’t even remember the person I was back then or the experiences I had.

When I came back from Greece I never thought I’d have the opportunity to go anywhere again. To be frank it was expensive and traveling wasn’t the priority when I was just about to graduate from college. I needed a job. I needed a decent paycheck. I needed to #adult.

It wasn’t until 2015 that I started to plan my next trip. It happened unexpectedly. The funds were still nonexistent. I had a freelance job that paid me decent money and a second gig on the side but I was doing nothing. I felt unfulfilled, depressed and bored with life. Which is why when I received an e-mail that there was going to be a Harry Potter play in London I knew I had to go.

Call me a Potterhead. Call me a nerd. The truth of the matter is I felt a yearning. I had to get out of ‘dodge’ and the play gave me an excuse. It was 2015 and the earliest tickets I could get were for January 2017.

I can assure you I did not hesitate putting my credit card information in and pressing submit.

I was going to London…it was just going to take me a few years to get there.

Leave a Reply

